| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 2:01am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Hi all,
 
 I was just at Eric's site looking for specifics on what Pirate abilities are, but 
 couldn't find anything specifically listed.
 
 Can anyone point me to a source, either a section in the rulebook, or in 
 one of the GF's that says what being a pirate does for you?
 
 Thanks in advance.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 10:16am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
there is no specific ability that you get for being a pirate.
 
 There are a bunch of cards that allow pirates to do special stuff. Steal their engagement is a common one. 
 
 There is a reaction card (Pirate's Hook?) that allows you to discard a card from your opponent's hand if they cause the card this card is played to to be discarded (it's an ability card). 
 
 There is Walking the Plank (don't recall what that does), plus a bunch of others.
 
 Check out Piracy, I know there are a bunch of stuff in there. ;)
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         RobPro IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2004 Location: United States Posts: 835
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 4:37pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Essentially, "pirate" is just a keyword other cards play off.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 16 July 2008 at 5:30pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Walk the plank is the one that lets you discard a card from your opponents 
 hand.
 
 Pirates hook makes non-combat capable crew combat capable, and adds to 
 their damage.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 3:32pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Another pirate question:
 
 Pirates all have Special Weapons Mounts on them.  Does that mean Pirates 
 can use foreign tech like Vektreans or Bolaar can?  Or, do they have to 
 have a card that lets them use foreign tech in the first place?
 
 Seems to me like Pirates should be able to use foreign tech without having 
 to have an Alien Tech Expert or a Spy Tech.  Otherwise doesn't seem to be 
 much value in being a Pirate.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ericbsmith IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 12 October 2004 Location: United States Posts: 321
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 4:06pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
MogwaiSC wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       Pirates all have Special Weapons Mounts on them.  Does that mean Pirates 
 can use foreign tech like Vektreans or Bolaar can?  Or, do they have to 
 have a card that lets them use foreign tech in the first place? | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
 By the rules, no, Pirates don't automatically get to use Foreign Tech. In fact, the special ability of several of the Vinciennes Pirate Tribe  ships is that they can use Foreign Tech.
  __________________ Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
  
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:28pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
ericbsmith wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       By the rules, no, Pirates don't automatically get to use 
 Foreign Tech. In fact, the special ability of several of the Vinciennes Pirate 
 Tribe  ships is that they can use Foreign Tech. | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 Hmm... this is something I didn't know.  Is there a source for this I can 
 refer to?  If I try to do this in a game with our group, they'll try to deny me 
 unless I have a concrete source.
 
 It is a nice thing to know, and makes the Vinciennes tribe a good match for 
 Bolaar (I already have them as the minor in my Bolaar deck).  Since 
 Violators are technically Vinciennes tribe as well, does this apply to 
 violators too?
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ericbsmith IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 12 October 2004 Location: United States Posts: 321
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 July 2008 at 6:52pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
A source for a rule that doesn't exist? Sorry, you need to turn it around and have them show you where the rules state that Pirates can use Foreign Technology. See the section under Equipment about Empire Specific Equipment, which describes Foreign, Exclusive, and Adapted Technology.
  Only the Vektreans and Bolaar, under their empire descriptions, are permitted to use Adapted Technology. No other place in the 2.0 rules are any other empires or class of cards allowed to use Adapted Technology. (this may be where the confusion comes from, since all Bolaar are considered Pirate cards)
  The Allied Empires were added to the list of empire which can use Adapted Technology on the rules insert which was in the AF Starters. Other empires need a card which specifically allows the use of Foreign or Exclusive Tech.
 
 
MogwaiSC wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       | Since Violators are technically Vinciennes tribe as well, does this apply to 
violators too? | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
 Since only some Vinciennes tribe ships have the rule allowing the use of Foreign Technology it can't possibly be classed as an empire ability, so even if you consider the Violators to be Vinciennes they wouldn't be allowed to use Foreign Tech. Though note that the Violator Chieftain Ecniv  "Allows 1 Violator tribe ship in the fleet to use Foreign and Exclusive Technology." 
  Edited by ericbsmith on 26 July 2008 at 7:26pm
  __________________ Eric B. Smith
 GE Card Museum
  
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 12:04am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Obviously I didn't make myself clear...
 
 Where does it say that Vinciennes tribe ships can use foreign tech?  I know 
 Ecniv allows it, but I haven't seen anything of the sort on the text of the 
 Vinciennes ships (I haven't had my cards out in some time), or anywhere 
 else.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 28 July 2008 at 2:41pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
only the cards that say they can can.
 
 It is not a tribe rule.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |