| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 November 2004 at 10:43pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Hi folks, what happens if you put an R/E8 Sound Construction on a 
 Vektrean Asteroid Base?
 
 The R/E8 specifically says:
 
 -This unit's structure takes half damage from weapons fire and card 
 damage.
 -The unit may not be engaged on a turn repair is allocated to the 
 structure.
 
 Here's my question:  Since a Vektrean asteroid base doesn't need to be 
 engaged, if I play the R/E8 on one, can I repair the base and still fire 
 phasers on the same turn?
 
 Now, the base has no point requirements, and because of this would I be 
 correct in reasoning that it doesn't need to be engaged?  After all, it can 
 fire it's phasers every turn without requiring any point allocation.  But, 
 since the Special Weapon mounts do require ammunition points, they 
 would be affected by the conditions of the R/E8, correct?
 
 So in other words, if I were to use this combo, could I repair my Asteroid 
 Base and fire it's phasers (but not it's heavy weapons) on the same turn?
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Geko IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 12 December 2003 Location: United States Posts: 257
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 30 November 2004 at 5:40am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The T/B would still need to be engaged to fire its weapons. Even though its point requirement is zero, the equipment is stating that the T/B cannot be engaged. So you would not be able to even fire the phasers.
  __________________ Andrew Smith
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 02 December 2004 at 1:57am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Ugh.  
 
 Yeah, upon further thought I'd have to agree.  
 
 Ships that aren't engaged don't get to fire their phasers, but I guess what 
 I was thinking that it was the cost to engage the ship, not the fact it is 
 engaged, that allows a ship to fire its' phasers.  Given that logic, it would 
 make sense as I'm assuming that all cards in the game, even those like 
 crew, would be "engaged" (so to speak) that don't have point costs.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         vuros Acolyte 
          
 
  Joined: 03 August 2006 Posts: 17
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2006 at 9:48am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
ships/bases without point requirements remain engaged at point allocation. i'd have to disagree with geko, if a unit requires no points it dosn't  disengage then re-engage at point alocation , it states that it remains engaged. IMO it's a loophole but i'd let it fly  
  
  
2 -ENGAGEMENT PHASE     Cards that received all point requirements are considered engaged and are placed in a vertical position in this phase. Cards without point requirements remain engaged. Cards that did not receive their point requirements are considered disengaged and are placed in a horizontal position (they cannot operate).     For the sake of player convenience, the Engagement Phase may be merged with the Allocation Phase since it is easier to allocate to one card, engage it and then go on to the next card.     For the sake of player convenience, card may be engaged as points are allocated to them since it is easier to allocate to one card, engage it and then go on to the next card.  
  Edited by vuros on 10 August 2006 at 9:51am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2006 at 6:47pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Wow... I missed that.  That could be a significant loophole.  However, I still 
 would agree with Geko because the card text of the Sound Construction 
 states the unit must be disengaged to be repaired.  So even though the base 
 wouldn't be disengaged at the end of your turn, if you wanted to repair it, 
 because card text always overrules rulebook text, you would need to actively 
 disengage the base to repair it.  The base wouldn't be able to fire then 
 because you had to purposely disengage it to repair it in compliance with 
 the requirements of the R/E8.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         vuros Acolyte 
          
 
  Joined: 03 August 2006 Posts: 17
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2006 at 7:20pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
ok on that note i would say you couldn't repair it with that equipment on the base then
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2006 at 11:26pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
As I said, you could repair the base, but you would have to choose to 
 actively disengage it to do so.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         vuros Acolyte 
          
 
  Joined: 03 August 2006 Posts: 17
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 11 August 2006 at 7:25am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
ok i would agree to that
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 11 August 2006 at 11:22am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Note: The cards alwasy supercede the rulebook.
 
 If a card states that it disengages a card that doesn't have point requirements, then it in fact is disengaged. And yes, I know that this card doesn't actually say it disengages (more of an implication).
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |