| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         dizzydemon Devoted 
          
 
  Joined: 05 July 2006 Location: United States Posts: 43
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 05 October 2016 at 8:59am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Question:  if an empire specific fighter is sent to the 
 hand via being discarded, can that fighter come out 
 again immediately ( you know, the same turn it returned 
 to the hand).  One of the "Rules" on the card following 
 a hyphen is "must be played to a ________ unit".  I 
 thought that meant it could only be played on such a 
 unit once per turn following the general rule that each 
 card may only perform its function once per complete 
 turn (barring some card that changes that).  But I am 
 told if it returns to the hand it can be played again 
 and again.  Is this right?
  __________________ Dizzy Demon
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         werewolflht65 Exalted 
          
 
  Joined: 08 October 2007 Location: United States Posts: 780
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 05 October 2016 at 10:00am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
It needs to be played to an empire-specific ship or base, 
 but if it already did it's function for the turn, then it 
 just sits there. You can play it up to the limit of your 
 card plays for that turn, but all it will do is sit there.
  __________________ "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 15 October 2016 at 1:04pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The game doesn't actually track whether that specific card did something.  For all your opponent knows you might have TWO of them in your hand....  It's simply better to write the rules to not try to follow whether that specific card was used earlier this turn before leaving play.  Realistically that'd be hidden information, and thus not something anyone but the person playing the fighter would be able to know.
 
 So, to recap, the general rule on "each card can perform it's function only once per complete turn" only really applies to cards while they are in play.  If it leaves play and returns it's treated as a new card(because no one really knows if it is or isn't).
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |