| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         Blacklassie Adept 
          
 
  Joined: 19 December 2003 Location: United States Posts: 99
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 24 October 2009 at 1:02pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The Card Reads: 
As a reaction, may fire phasers at target firing at this unit. 
Shuttles on carriers have their phasers rearmed during the engagement phase. 
The question is: Can this ship react every player turn or does it react once per complete player round? Also, do the shuttle phasers react also by being on the ship? 
Good Day.......Dan 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Matchbox Adept 
          
 
  Joined: 27 April 2005 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 24 October 2009 at 4:32pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
i beleive its everytime someone fires at you.  so if two ships fire at you from one opponent, you can split your phasers back at them.  and seeing as its a level 10, you should be able to fire them every player turn.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 October 2009 at 11:27pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
We've always played that its per complete turn.  You only get to fire in 
 reaction once.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Matchbox Adept 
          
 
  Joined: 27 April 2005 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 27 October 2009 at 2:44pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
hmm ill have to ask the people in my group. i thought it was every player trun, cuz i remember being afraid to fire at it sometimes lol. even when i knew it was used.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 24 November 2009 at 2:19am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
Matchbox wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       hmm ill have to ask the people in my group. i thought 
 it was every player trun, cuz i remember being afraid to fire at it 
 sometimes lol. even when i knew it was used. | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 That would make it WAY too powerful... broken in my opinion.  If you want 
 to be able to fire your phasers in reaction more than once per complete 
 turn you need to use E4 and E8 multipurpose phasers, and cards that let 
 you recycle those cards.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 13 January 2010 at 2:37pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
This ship can fire its phasers each time it is targetted by opponent weapons fire. This would include each player turn.
 
 The shuttles do not have that luxury, and can only fire once per complete turn.
  Edited by Gekonauak on 13 January 2010 at 2:38pm
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 15 January 2010 at 7:43pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
Gekonauak wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       This ship can fire its phasers each time it is 
 targetted by opponent weapons fire. This would include each player turn.
 
 The shuttles do not have that luxury, and can only fire once per complete 
 turn. | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 Is there something in the rulebook or GF about this?
 
 I think that makes it WAY too powerful.  As I said, it makes it broken.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 18 January 2010 at 6:31am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I'm pretty sure the standard reaction card rules cover it:
 
   http://galacticempires.no-ip.org/ge/GErulesv21.html#PlayingR eactionCards
 
 Yes, it is WAY powerful. Some entity cards are.
 
 It is only a problem if you fire weapons at it.
 
 So, take it out with something else.
 
 
 Think of "As a reaction" as being played from your hand. You can use the ability anytime the if/then statement is satisfied.
 
 
  Edited by Gekonauak on 18 January 2010 at 6:36am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 18 January 2010 at 7:40pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Problem is, there are A LOT of Indirigan ships, not just 10's, and 
 equipment cards such as E8 Multipurpose Phasers and the E6 for Zedan 
 that would also fall under this rule.  
 
 The other thing, is that strictly speaking, the ship firing in reaction is a 
 card action, not a reaction card play. Aren't card actions in general limited 
 to once per turn unless they have some sort of global qualifier like "Is 
 Immune" or something like that?
 
 If such ships get to fire in return each and every time they are fired upon, 
 I'm going to build a LOT more reaction phasers into my Bolaar deck.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         RobPro IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2004 Location: United States Posts: 835
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 18 January 2010 at 9:18pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
We've always played it that a ship with reactionary phasers can shoot them each time it is targeted and split its volley against any/all of the units firing at it.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 19 January 2010 at 1:03am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
If that is the general consensus, my group and I will have to talk about it.  
 It will definitely change the dynamic of how we play GE.  I'm willing to go 
 with the ruling, after all, it's variety that makes things interesting, isn't it?  
 It still seems too powerful to me.  
 
 Time to use all of the phaser bolt systems and multipurpose phasers I 
 have... :o
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 19 January 2010 at 9:01am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Then also stock Tractor Beams so when your opponent fires at your other ships you can force him to hit this one as well.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 4:50pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The appropriate rule is here:
 
 http://galacticempires.no-ip.org/ge/GErulesv21.html
 
 Note the section on Limit On Card Actions
 
 You can only use "as a reaction" functions once each complete turn.
  Edited by ht80 on 20 January 2010 at 4:57pm
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 5:00pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Thanks for taking the time to look that one up.  I'm glad to know we've 
 been doing it right all along.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 5:28pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Reactionary phasers are over rated. 
 
 To be used "as a reaction" they can not have been fired during your last 
 turn. There usually aren't enough of them on the ship to kill a target in 
 reaction allowing them to save the ship. That limits there effectiveness in 
 saving your ship. That leaves trying to use them to soften at target prior 
 to your turn. That's limited too since you only have a choice of firing at 
 targets that are targeting your ship.
 
 Of course you could get lucky and have an opponent that is using a ship 
 that's too small to attack your ship with reactionary phasers and they 
 don't have any more card plays so they can't react to your weapons fire. 
 But my luck never runs to playing against dumb players that don't take 
 that into account before they fire.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 6:40pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
We've always played that ships with reaction phasers can fire both during 
 the owning players turn and once in retaliation when fired upon during 
 another player turn.  Of course, we only allow it once per complete turn for 
 the ship, and only at units that are firing at the ship.
 
 In our group, we're fond of doing things like putting a Weapons Officer or 
 a Future Ship on ships reactionary phasers, thus increasing their firepower 
 significantly.  Each of us on one occasion or another has gotten a big ship, 
 like an 8, 9, or 10, out with that combo and have been able to vaporize 
 one of the firing ships, usually the smallest ship participating in the volley.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 7:28pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
In firing on your own turn and another player's, You've fired twice on a 
 complete turn breaking the rule that states a cards action can only be used 
 once each turn. Playing by the rules, I'd much rather shoot during my own 
 weapon's phase unless I have a very good reason. 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 20 January 2010 at 10:24pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
But the card says "fire in reaction" which is different than firing offensively.  
 The card does not say "fire phasers in any way only once per turn" nor 
 does it even imply that.
 
 Perhaps a better example is a C10 Time Knight.  He can discard any one 
 card played, and he also has five points of time damage he can do.  Is 
 using the time damage to attack a card action?  Does doing so then mean 
 he can no longer use his discard ability?
 
 While this admittedly a different kind of card, the principle is the same.
 I don't think that firing offensively constitutes using a card action.
  Edited by MogwaiSC on 21 January 2010 at 12:06am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 21 January 2010 at 4:09am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Each card action can be done ONCE per complete turn. The rule is very 
 specific. If a card action is used during your turn, it may not be used 
 during another player's turn. If a card has multiple actions, each of them 
 can be used once per complete turn. 
 
 BTW, searching for the word action in the rule book also lists the same 
 rule under crucial rules. Weapons fire must be an action or it could not 
 be used "as a reaction". The only other restriction on weapons fire 
 otherwise is it must occur during the weapons fire phase. (Yours or 
 another players.)
 
 The only specific rules dealing with weapons firing in reaction are these.
 
 
Quote: 
   
    
    
      
       DETONIUM BOLTS: Detonium Bolts are used by the Zedan to 
 counter attack their enemies. Each Detonium Bolt requires 1 ammunition 
 point to cause 1 point of damage. Each armed Detonium Bolt (whether it 
 was fired or not) may be fired 1 time on 1 opponent turn, as a reaction to 
 weapons fired at the ship equipped with the Detonium Bolt. This fire must 
 be at one of the cards that fired at the ship equipped with the Detonium 
 Bolt. | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
 
 
 I'd argue that phasers are not DETONIUM bolts  designed to fire twice in a 
 single turn and trying to use this as an example of why reactionary 
 phasers can fire more than one in a complete turn would not apply. 
 Unless, of course, they were multi-purpose phasers which is not the case 
 above. 
  Edited by ht80 on 21 January 2010 at 4:19am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 21 January 2010 at 3:35pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I see your point, the problem is that it doesn't say, there or anywhere 
 else in the rules I can find, that firing weapons is a "card action".  I can't 
 find anything that says a weapons volley is a "card action" either.  Now it 
 does say "function" but that is ambiguous because again, what 
 constitutes a "function" is not specifically defined.  
 
 A "function" of a base it to protect the terrain it's on, so according to 
 your interpretation, if someone fires at my planet and I have the base 
 protect it, then I can't do anything else with that base.  Now the rules do 
 say that bases protect the planets they're on, but it doesn't say that it 
 doesn't take a card action for them to do that, so again, in strict 
 interpretation of the wording, if a base protects its planet, then it can't 
 do anything else because it has performed a "function" or taken an 
 "action".
 
 I can see your point about card abilities, in other words text printed on 
 the card that says a card can do something, like a Marauder for 
 instance.  But what about say, an S6 Vektrean Spy Cruiser which in its 
 card text that discarded spies can be sent to the spy cruiser?  Under 
 your interpretation, if that ship fired its weapons, then it has taken an 
 action and can't redirect the discard spy to the ship.  Same for my earlier 
 example of the C10 Time Knight; if you use his psy damage on your 
 turn, then you can't use his card stopping ability because the card has 
 already taken an action that turn.  
 
 So to play devil's advocate here, I still think the rules that are present 
 and their wording don't back up what you're saying.   I also don't think 
 that this consequences was what was intended when cards were given 
 special abilities like the spy cruiser.  It emasculates any special ability 
 given to any card.
  Edited by MogwaiSC on 21 January 2010 at 3:38pm
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 21 January 2010 at 7:02pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
No where did I say a card can only take one action. I said it can only use 
 each ability once per complete turn. Each phaser point can 
 cause one point of damage per complete turn, each resource can only 
 generate once each complete turn and each special ability can be used 
 once each complete turn. There is nothing in "as a reaction" that excepts 
 a card from that limitation. There is nothing in the statement that says if 
 I used another ability on a card, I can not use something else later in the 
 complete turn.
 
 I might argue that the spy ship can only take one spy a turn but I'd have 
 to read the card. If the ability isn't really an action of the card it might be 
 argued that the limitation doesn't apply. To me, firing phasers is an action 
 of the card and can only be done once a complete turn. For ships with "as 
 a reaction", this can occur during your weapons phase or on another 
 person's weapons phase.
 
 The real issue is that, for each player, a complete turn always starts again 
 with the engagement phase, not at the end of the player turn. If you used 
 an ability of a card during your player turn, it will not have that ability 
 available again until your next player turn. Had they made the rules to 
 start a complete turn at the end of your turn, then you could fire the 
 phasers "as a reaction" after you've fired them during your turn since they 
 "recycled" their ability at the end of your turn. Of course, if that was the 
 case, you would not be able to use them again on your next player turn 
 since they had already been used. That's all theory though since a 
 complete turn doesn't start at the end of the player turn, it starts at the 
 beginning of it.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 21 January 2010 at 11:20pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
ht80 wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       No where did I say a card can only take one action. I 
 said it can only use 
 each ability once per complete turn. ...  There is nothing in 
 the statement that says if 
 I used another ability on a card, I can not use something else later in the 
 complete turn.
 
  | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 Point taken.  However, the language up to this point has been 
 ambiguous.  I could have read your next to last post better, but earlier 
 on there was no clear definition between "action", "ability", "function", 
 etc.
 
 Regardless, there is language here in the rules that needs to be cleaned 
 up.  Things like "ability", "action", etc. need to be explicitly defined in 
 the rules but they are not.  I think that is the main source of the 
 confusion here... and also a not close enough reading of the rules.
 
 With respect to reactionary phasers, this is a game changer.  It doesn't 
 really affect other things like the examples we've used, but with respect 
 to weapons fire, it significantly alters things.  I'll have to bring this to 
 the attention of my group.  
 
 The question now is how do the cards that give you multipurpose 
 phasers, or reactionary phaser, work with respect to this?  If your ship 
 has already fired, it seems that playing an R/E4 Multipurpose Phasers is 
 useless because even with the reaction card, you've already fired so the 
 card has no effect.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 22 January 2010 at 4:22am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I thought Multipurpose Phasers allowed the phasers to be fired multiple 
 times which is a mistake on my part. When you play it in reaction, it 
 should allow the ship to fire its phasers again at the units targeting 
 the ship though it doesn't really say that since it is a poorly worded early 
 card. It's also a discard after use card that is an equipment card so it is 
 limited useful. If you were to put it in your deck and try to use it, I would 
 allow the fire to occur even if you did fire your phasers previously since 
 the action taking effect is the throw away card's action, not the ships 
 action. To be non-ambiguous, it needed to state that it allows an 
 engaged ship to fire an additional time during the opponents turn. That's 
 assumed since reaction cards are assumed to be played only in reaction 
 and on the opponents turn.
 
 The E8 card is worse though it is a newer card. The way it is written, the 
 ship could fire its phasers at a targeting unit after the volley has occurred. 
 I see nothing that states that the volley from the ship would occur before 
 the targeting unit's volley. I would force it to be resolved as a separate 
 volley from the one that targeted it. I might let you get by with claiming 
 that card action of the equipment card reactivated the phasers for the 
 turn if you actually tried to play that card against me. I also might not. 
 The card very poorly written. That card desperately needed "as a reaction" 
 on it.
 
 The problem is the multi-purpose phaser card is a cheap attempt to have 
 the multi firing phasers the Federation had in Star Fleet Battles.  
 
 As for the rules and the cards being ambiguous, the early rules and cards 
 were written by an Ex New York State Cop that eventually ran his business 
 into bankruptcy and ended up on the run from creditors.
  Edited by ht80 on 22 January 2010 at 4:43am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 22 January 2010 at 2:17pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
  
 
 Thanks, Tony, I knew that didn't sound right when I said they could fire each player turn, but I couldn't find the rule about the "Limit on Card Actions"
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 January 2010 at 11:15pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Well, I guess the moral of the story is all's well that ends well, except for 
 former cops I suppose! :o
 
 Regardless, this revelation does change some things, and also clarifies 
 others.  I'll make a mention of it to my group and see what they have to 
 say.  I play with Galactus and one other regular in our group, he's 
 registered here as "Deth Ray" but doesn't really post.  We have a few other 
 occasionals, but mostly it's just us three.  Actually, I can't really say I'm a 
 regular as I only have time to play once every couple of months at best... 
 oh well... "married with children" and all that... :P
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |