| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 24 April 2004 at 6:26pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Hi folks,
 
 Here's another thorny rules question I would like to get opinions on.
 
 If a ship with a C10 Legendary Officer fires at a ship or a Dragon/ess, can 
 an R/L6 Lucky Maneuver be played on the ship or Dragon that is the 
 target of the fire?  
 
 While the card text on the Legendary Officer says that fire from the ship 
 may not be modified, the card text on the Lucky Maneuver says : Allows 
 the ship on which it is played to ignore an entire opponent volley.  
 Discarded after use.
 
 (Please remember that Dragons are treated as ships for purposes of 
 dealing and receiving damage.)
 
 Now, is the action of avoiding the volley separate from the action of 
 the ship with the Legendary Officer firing it's weapons?  If they are two 
 separate actions, wouldn't the Lucky Maneuver effect only the ship or 
 Dragon that is the target of the fire, and not be effecting the ship with the 
 officer that is firing it's weapons?  As a result, wouldn't that then mean 
 the action of firing the ship's weapons isn't being interfered with or 
 modified?  
 
 As an example of this difference, would an R/L2 Phaser Malfunction 
 constitute modifying the firing of the ships weapons where as the Lucky 
 Maneuver would not?
 
 What do you all think?
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Geko IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 12 December 2003 Location: United States Posts: 257
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 30 April 2004 at 9:05am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The Lucky Manuever is still negatively modifying the weapons fire. It is allowing the ship (or dragon) to ignore the volley. Effectively reducing the damage to zero. 
Yes, this is powerful, but the Legendary Officer IS a C10 after all. 
  __________________ Andrew Smith
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Eaglepreacher IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 December 2003 Location: United States Posts: 573
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 01 May 2004 at 6:55am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I'm not so sure Geko. The fire isnt being modified.  So the lengendary officer forgot his glasses and shot in the wrong direction. the fire continues but not in the right place.  But as you stated .... He is an C10....  I mean when I ws in the army I was an excellent shot. 39/40 hits.... Once i hit 5/40.. someone had adjusted my weapon... but the cluster of shots was still pretty tight, just not on target..LOL
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Geko IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 12 December 2003 Location: United States Posts: 257
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 03 May 2004 at 7:01am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
One thing I always did when making rules decisions was to give the Entity the benefit of the doubt so to speak. Whenever the was a rules question involiving an Entity, the Entity usually won out.
  __________________ Andrew Smith
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Galactus1 Admin Group 
          
 
  Joined: 01 October 2003 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 04 May 2004 at 6:01pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
My gut reaction and two cents is as follows.  
 
The volley is not being reduced/modified, it is being ignored. The
volley stiill uses the weapons the attacking player allocated, just
none of them affect the target. Another distinction to be made is that
most of the card that negatively effect a volley target the opponents
ship not the ship being shot at which I think places Lucky Manuever is
a different category. 
 
If that was all the legendary officer did I would agree with Geko that
that would be cheating an entity but he also produces 4 command points,
reduces the supply cost of the fleet by 4 and his location stack is
returned to hand when it would normally be destroyed (except officer
which goes to discard pile). 
 
And he only protects weapons fire from his location not an entire
volley. I would say his intent was to stop cards like heavy weapons
backfire, phaser malf, etc. that target a location not a volley. 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Galactus IRC 
           
 Site Administrator
  Joined: 25 April 2004 Location: United States Posts: 181
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 21 April 2007 at 11:44pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
We have played it that if the card or card action attempts to modify the 
 volley or the source of the volley then it fails.  If you are attempting to 
 modfiy the location of the intended attack...you have a chance, You can time 
 skip your self out of harms way...or a lucky maneuver or maybe an R/L10 
 Emergency Evacuation might work...(move the intended target to another 
 location entirely). I think an R/E6 Distortion Generator would also work 
 here....your thoughts on this Bullington???
 
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 22 April 2007 at 12:23am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I think what Galactus means to say here is that we have been treating this 
 situation with the "to your fleet/against your opponent fleet" distinction.  
 Cards that would be played to the Legendary Officer's location, his ship, 
 base, whatever, get negated.  Cards played to the target, such as a Lucky 
 Maneuver, etc. are not negated as they are not played against the C10's 
 fleet or unit.  I think in the case of the R/E6 it would work just fine 
 because it's not played against the C10's location or against his fleet.
 
 PS: One of my favorite things to do with the Legendary Officer is give him 
 an R/A2 Premonition (it's a useful placeholder), so that when you have to 
 discard him to recover his stack, you then play the Premonition and take 
 the Legendary Officer back into your hand.  I've done this to Galactus, on 
 more than one occasion; it was fun watching the steam come out of his 
 ears... :D
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Galactus IRC 
           
 Site Administrator
  Joined: 25 April 2004 Location: United States Posts: 181
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 26 April 2007 at 4:10pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Thanks...that is what is was trying to convey...as for the steam out of my 
 ears...when are you coming up for another THRASHING?!?!?
 
 :)
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         super jew Acolyte 
          
 
  Joined: 10 December 2007 Location: United States Posts: 9
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 11:37am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
the lucky manever goes off it is not a -ly modifying the volley.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         bignea Exalted 
          
 
  Joined: 17 May 2005 Location: United States Posts: 124
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 1:12pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Galactus wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       We have played it that if the card or card action attempts to modify the  volley or the source of the volley then it fails. If you are attempting to  modfiy the location of the intended attack...you have a chance, You can time  skip your self out of harms way...or a lucky maneuver or maybe an R/L10  Emergency Evacuation might work...(move the intended target to another  location entirely). I think an R/E6 Distortion Generator would also work  here....your thoughts on this Bullington??? 
 
  | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
  
Just 1 note, you can't time skip your self or your own fleet card, it's on an opponent card or fleet. 
I think reduce or modify a volley would be playing a card on the officer location that affects the volley or using like the L/3 unlucky targeting on your location, reducing the volley by so many points. 
Using the manuever or the mentioned R/E6 just ignores the volley. 
just my 2 cents 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Matchbox Adept 
          
 
  Joined: 27 April 2005 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 1:55pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
bignea there is that hazard card that can do that, only to your fleet in reaction,  where you have to pay the 5 research to get rid of it, but yeah the O/R1 time skip cant be played to your cards.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 2:29pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Time Trap
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Matchbox Adept 
          
 
  Joined: 27 April 2005 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 4:42pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
yeah thanks   thats it.   
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         werewolflht65 Exalted 
          
 
  Joined: 08 October 2007 Location: United States Posts: 780
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 December 2007 at 10:29pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Ok, so, we resurrected a really old question to answer it the way it would have logically been decided at a Tournament. 
  Cards like Lucky Maneuver are exempt from the Leg.Off's effect. 
  __________________ "Light Balls? You didn't ask for Light Balls. You asked for Light BEER!" Capt. Sergei Fukov, CPP Kalinka
 Star Wreck, In The Pirkinning
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 11 December 2007 at 11:25am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
werewolflht65 wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       Ok, so, we resurrected a really old question to 
 answer it the way it would have logically been decided at a Tournament. 
 Cards like Lucky Maneuver are exempt from the Leg.Off's effect.
  | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 That is how we play it.  We made that ruling based on the played to vs. 
 played against distinction.  Cards played against the LO's ship are negated, 
 but those played to your own fleet aren't subject to the LO's ability.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |