| Author | 
         | 
         
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2009 at 3:53pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
What happens if you play a C10 Primordial Warrior to a location with a C10 
 War Veteran?  Who wins?
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Lobo IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 04 July 2007 Location: United States Posts: 533
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 07 August 2009 at 4:27pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
-War Veteran does not have an attack option, no there cannot be a true winner, but the C10 is a crew, it attacks and kills one crew at location per turn, the War Vet is immune, so they both stick around.
  Next time please put text of cards in your post to avoid me having to hunt down GE card museum. Not because you have to, but because i am lazy.
  The Primordial warrior would kill the War Vet if and only if his "Kill crew" ability said in the beginning "As a card action: Kill one crew". Without that qualifier it can only be a crew attack card rule thus the Vet is immune to the Primordial Warrior.
  Lobo 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 10 August 2009 at 7:45am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
what he said.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Galactus1 Admin Group 
          
 
  Joined: 01 October 2003 Location: United States Posts: 118
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 24 November 2009 at 1:06pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Man...that's splitting hairs semantically speaking. Killing a crew as a card 
 action is not considered a crew attack?  THAT BLOWS!!!!  I say you can't kill 
 him...for Pete's sake....he's a god damn WAR AVATAR!!! (look at those rays 
 of light coming off his body) 
 
 He should be immune to crew card attacks regardless if it is a card action or 
 a direct crew attack action...  what's the friggin difference????  I mean 
 really.....
  Edited by Galactus1 on 24 November 2009 at 5:35pm
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 13 January 2010 at 2:43pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I didn't read Lobo's third thought completely back then.
 
 What I meant was that they both stick around, admiring each other. 
 
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 15 January 2010 at 7:41pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Mexican standoff?  Meh.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 28 January 2010 at 2:53pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I would post a new thread, but can't right now. 
C10 Primordial Warrior + Filarian 
What happens? O_o' 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 8:35am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The Primordial Warrior laughs at you. :)
 
 He is immune to everything except Crew card attacks. Filarians are an infestation. A parasite. The only way they could effect a PW is if they infected a Marine or some such combat capable crew.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 9:50am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
So you can't play it on your primordial warrior? 
The idea seemed idiotically powerful and I was wondering if it worked.  PW provides his own transportation, AND he would allow the Filarian to survive the destruction of the ship. 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 9:54am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
No, you can play it on him, but it will not make him a Filarian. He is immune to its abilities.
 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 10:43am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
ah, I see. that makes sense. :)
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 4:16pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
I disagree with Andrew. You can't be immune to an ability. You can only 
 be immune to things that can hurt you. Being immune to everything but 
 crew attacks does not imply that you can not add abilities to the card.
 
 I personally would not put an ability on the Primordial Warrior since it is 
 discarded when there are no opponent crew in play. That means any 
 ability card played on it will also be discarded. That would waste a 
 Filarian card on one. If I did play it on one, the research would remove 
 the Filarian card but not the PW. (It is immune to negative effects, the 
 Fliarian card is not.) Then again, I wouldn't put the PW in my deck to be 
 played, there are so many other entities I would rather use. And I 
 wouldn't declare as Filarian since there aren't enough generic ships to 
 make a true combat deck. The Filarian race is yet another joke from the 
 designer putting in cards so that the players would try and make a use 
 of. Try is the key word in that sentence since any reasonable deck of 
 another race should be able to beat it.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 29 January 2010 at 6:26pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
O_o' 
Ookay.....  So it's relegated to a "fun deck"? 
Hmm... How many different "police" and generic "pirate" ships are there?  Then there's the S10 cargo ship.... 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 30 January 2010 at 8:15am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
How many different police and pirate ships are there with heavy weapons? I 
 don't like trying one hand behind my back before starting a fight. 
 
 Fun decks are decks I can use to have a relaxing game of GE where I pound 
 my opponents into the ground. :) The better term would be a "C" deck. My A 
 decks are those I use to have fun with. My "B" decks are used when I'm being 
 nice and I want to let my opponents have a chance. My "C" decks are those I 
 put together to see what an opponent might try if they tried to put an "A" 
 deck together with an empire I dismissed.
 
 My "A" decks never seem to have any problems beating my "C" decks. Even 
 when I play the "C" deck and someone else plays the "A" deck.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 30 January 2010 at 11:10am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
there are some.  but yeah I can see how that'd be a major limitation.  for a Filarian deck you don't really need to destroy all opposing ships, half the point is to Hijack them instead of destroying them.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 31 January 2010 at 12:09am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
ht80 wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       ...I personally would not put an ability on the Primordial 
 Warrior since it is discarded when there are no opponent crew in play. 
  | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 Sorry for not posting the card text with this post, but my recollection of 
 the card text on the PW is that it "may" kill a crew...
 
 In our group we've interpreted this to mean that it doesn't "have to" kill a 
 crew...  So you can choose not to kill a crew and keep the PW around 
 even if you don't have a primordial planet in play to put him on afterward.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 31 January 2010 at 7:47am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
The only "may" in the PW is to decide to move. I would argue that if the 
 PW was at a location with one of your own crew, it would be forced to kill 
 it. "Kills one crew card per turn at his location". This is independent of the 
 action "May change locations once per turn."
 
 This is another example of a poorly written card with nice art work. The 
 "per turn" on both rules didn't need to be there if he had finished the 
 rules properly before it was printed. Entities can't be reprinted so you 
 can't fix wording errors. He left out words since he needed the "per turn" 
 on the card. We'll never really know the intent now.
 
 As written, the PW doesn't need to move but MUST kill if a crew is at its 
 location! It also MUST be placed on the bottom of the deck when there 
 are no opponent crew. It also MUST be placed initially at a location with a 
 crew. Assuming that's the only crew there, it would have to be "killed" 
 (discarded) at that time. 
 
 In our group, we simply tossed all our crew when a PW appeared. Poof, 
 PW must be placed at the bottom of the deck!
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 31 January 2010 at 12:41pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
So if the only crew at the location is yours you can send the PW somewhere else before doing the killing?
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         ht80 IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 21 August 2009 Location: United States Posts: 66
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 31 January 2010 at 2:19pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
marhawkman wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       So if the only crew at the location is yours you can 
 send the PW somewhere else before doing the killing? | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 Yes, if there is still an opponent's crew in play.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         MogwaiSC IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2004 Location: United States Posts: 903
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 01 February 2010 at 2:04am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Same difference.  Cashes out the same regardless.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 01 February 2010 at 10:15am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
 
ht80 wrote: 
   
    
    
      
       I disagree with Andrew. You can't be immune to an ability. You can only be immune to things that can hurt you. Being immune to everything but 
 crew attacks does not imply that you can not add abilities to the card.
  | 
       
       | 
    
    | 
 
  
 
 I understand what you are saying, and could agree with this viewpoint. 
 
 Being "immune" is poorly worded, granted, but in context of the rules in the game, it means it isn't affected by anything but crew attacks. Whether it is good or bad.
 
 So, I stand by my views on the card. As always, play it however you see fit.
 
 Ability cards are supposedly learned abilities, but as this case shows, that isn't exactly true. 
 
  
  Edited by Gekonauak on 01 February 2010 at 10:25am
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         Gekonauak IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 1595
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 01 February 2010 at 10:24am | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
yes, what your PW is doing at your location is beyond me, but he would have to kill your crew if they are present.
 
 There is no reason to do this since the PW is not discarded when his location is destroyed.
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   | 
      
        
         
         marhawkman IRC 
          
 
  Joined: 20 January 2010 Posts: 250
          | 
        
         
          
           | Posted: 01 February 2010 at 2:43pm | IP Logged
		     | 
                    
            		  
           | 
           
          
           
  | 
           
          
Maybe there was an opposing crew there?  Perhaps a Cryo convict?  (played against opponent terrain.  Opponent must pay 3 Eco each turn until he dies.) 
I could see using the PW to get rid of him.  Sure there are "better" uses, but PW is a reuseable resource. 
         | 
       
       
        | Back to Top | 
         
          
         | 
       
       
       
        |   |